top of page

The Grind


Up before the sun. Alarms blare and I drag my ass out of bed and into the shower; into the car, sit in traffic for 2 hours, work 8 hours, sit in traffic for 2 hours. Dinner. Exercise. Reading. Netflix. Bed.

"Don't live the same day over and over for 75 years and call it a Life".

According to Malcom Gladwell, it takes 10,000 hours to get good at something - intentional practice to be a master of it. 10,000 hours is about 416 days, which is just a little over a year. But that's assuming that you do it every moment of every day. Maybe 10,000 hours isn't accurate.

I spent half my day doing work related stuff: 2 hours there, 8 hours at work, 2 hours back. 12 hours a day.

So 10,000 hours/12 hours = 833 days = 2.28 years. According to Malcolm Gladwell, it will take me a little over 2 years to get over the work grind. Or to master it, to get used to it.

Live the grind. Love the grind. Be the grind.

But you know what grinds my gears though? There isn't enough TIME. And it always feels like it's a race against time. Do the most amount of work in the least amount of time. Do it all and do it well. But there are only 24 hours in a day and there is only so much that I can do.

I think that there is a misconception that there is more time than there is. That being an adult means lots of "Free time". The elusive "Free Time", to have a social life and a love life and family time and have hobbies and exercise and learn new skills and travel and maybe even have a side hustle.

But there are still only 24 hours in a day. Let's do the math.

24 hours in a day. 2 hour commute to work, 8 hours at work, 2 hour commute home. That's already 12 hours gone. 12 hours remaining.

1 hour for dinner. Let's be realistic and generous and say half an hour for exercise. 10.5 hours remaining. Let's say I want to get a decent nights sleep, around 6 hours. Ok, 4.5 hours remaining. And then one hour to get ready for the next day: pack lunch, get snacks, plan clothes, find umbrella, get ready for bed...3.5 hours remaining.

3.5 hours a day. So let's say i watch half an hour of TV, to keep my sanity. 3 hours remaining. 3 precious hours. 180 minutes. Me Time. Am I meant to use this time to also learn? Further my education? But what about the things that I want to do? The things that make my soul sparkle and my eyes shine?

I don't have an answer and I'm still struggling to realize that it's ok to not have to answer to anyone. That I am my own person, forging my own path. It's a much larger and difficult task than it sounds. So I guess that's what my 3 hours a day will be for. Finding my light, forging my path. Growing and learning - but on my own terms.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page