top of page

4 Ways To Find More Time to Read


I LOVE to read. Ever since I was very little, I've been a book worm. And now, with the magic of Kindle (thanks again to Libby), I can carry thousands of books around with me. But while eBooks are amazing, nothing beats good old-fashioned ink on paper.

And thanks to Libby and my boyfriend (shoutout to my favourite people), I got 12 new books for my birthday. That's right - a DOZEN new books... to add to my ever growing TBR list.

Despite how much I love to read, it's hard to find time to curl up with some tea and a good book. Especially when the world is going to shit and you've got approximately 10000 hours of Netflix to watch, a side hustle to run, and the semi-regular need to eat, sleep, and shower.

But being the bibliophile that I am, I need to figure out a way to read them. Because there are so many books but so little time. So... here's my four favourite ways to squeeze in some more reading time.

1. SAY NO TO LUNCH

It's nice to sit down and chat with co-workers at lunch, but you know what else is really fun? Being able to read. And an HOUR long reading session amidst the craziness that is the workday? Complete heaven.

2. COMMUTING TIME

Depending on how long your commute is, this could be the perfect time to squeeze in some reading. Sure, you could use the time for a quick nap, but why do that when you can escape the terrible world that we live in today and explore Dublin with James Joyce or relive the magic at Hogwarts?

Personally, i spend about 3-4 hours a DAY commuting, so...prime reading time. Now I just have to find a way to fix my car sickness...

3. READ TOGETHER

Reading doesn't have to be a solitary experience! Not everyone is a reader but everyone loves a good story! Grab a few friends and you can each set apart time to read together or turn date night into a poetry-reading session!

4. TURN OFF NETFLIX

Unless you're me (Yes, I am flaunting this), most people cannot read and watch tv at the same time. Apparently it's "distracting". So... before bed, turn on your bedside table lamp and turn off Netflix. Reading is just like Netflix... the little squiggles on the page make a movie in your head as you read them. Movie magic, from the comfort of your bed and PJs.

There ya go! 4 ways to get more reading in. Now pick up a book and get started on that TBR pile before it grows even bigger! Speaking of which, anyone have suggestions for book shelves? Asking for a friend...


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page